top of page
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Drying Oranges

Personally I love the sweet scent of dried oranges as for me it's the scent of christmas. So I thought after seeing so much of them everywhere in shops I would do my own (as is much cheaper) and I have to say it was surprisingly easy to do! There are so many creative and festive things you can do with them and I think they look great!

All you need for drying:

-An oven

-Kitchen roll

-A knife

-Oranges (big oranges because I don't think ones like clementines have the same effect)

-A baking tray

-Baking paper

How to dry:

-First you will want to cut your oranges into about 1cm thick slices.

-Then place your orange slices onto the kitchen roll and press them to get out excess juice. (Don't do this too hard otherwise you will end up with smushed oranges)

-At this point you should turn your oven onto a very low heat of about 50 degrees.

-Now line your baking tray with the baking paper and place your oranges onto the baking tray and put in the oven for 2 1/2 hours to 3 1/2 hours to slowly dry out.

What I did then with my dried oranges was to put them in a vertical line to hang as a decoration.

For this you will need:

-A sewing needle

-Thread

-And something to tie it to such as a screw (I tied mine to my grid organiser)

How to create:

-You will need to put your thread through the needle. This can be a very tricky task but for the first time in my life I got it through first time! #️⃣PRO

-You then need to pass the needle through your oranges through the top and bottom.

-Then tie your thread at both ends and hang as a wonderful christmas decoration.

Hope you enjoyed the post and be sure to let me know what you think and subscribe by dropping your email in the subscription box at the bottom on my blog.


bottom of page